Workshops & Talks 2020

CANCELLED

Saturday 4th April

TALK - EXPLORING COLOUR, TEXTURE & MARK

​Tutor: Maria Boyle

Venue: St Mary the Virgin Church Hall, New Road, Greenham RG19 8RZ

 

Sunday 5th April

WORKSHOP - DYE EFFECTS FOR CLOTH

Tutor: Maria Boyle

Venue: Speen Hall

Fee: £40

We shall explore pigment colour theory, colour wheels, and mixing colours.
Then we will direct dye cloth using Procion MX dyes, and create different effects using Manutex resists and discharge paste.
Students will leave with lots of different samples and have a number of useful techniques they can replicate at home.

3 places available. Please contact kvgwebmaster@gmail.com if you're interested in this workshop.

We will update you regarding future talks & workshops.

 

Saturday 2nd May

TALK - KNITTING FROM THE 1800s TO 1945

Speaker: Joyce Meader - The Historic Knit

Venue: St Mary the Virgin Church Hall, New Road, Greenham RG19 8RZ

Saturday 6th June

TALK - BLENDING FIBRES

Speaker: Carol Hodgson

Venue: St Mary the Virgin Church Hall, New Road, Greenham RG19 8RZ
 

Sunday 7th June

WORKSHOP - COLOUR BLENDING FIBRES ON A CARDER & BOARD

Blending fibres on carder and board.
Tutor: Carol Hodgson.

Venue: Speen Hall

Fee: £40
 

Saturday 4th July - TBA

Sunday 5th July

WORKSHOP - WILLOW BASKET MAKING

Tutor: Christine Brewster

Venue: Speen Hall

Fee: £40

Saturday 1st August - TBA

Saturday 5 September

TALKS: HOLIDAY MEMENTOS BY GUILD MEMBERS

Saturday 3 October

TALK:  RUSH, GROWING & HARVESTING WITH THE CORACLE

Speaker: Linda Lemieux
 

Sunday 4 October

WORKSHOP - RUSH BASKET MAKING

Tutor: Linda Lemieux

Fee: £45 (includes £5 for materials)

7 November

TALK: THE TUDOR CLOTH INDUSTRY

Speaker: Dr. David Peacock.

5 December

GUILD CHRISTMAS MEETING

Decorations. Shared Lunch. Fashion Show.

Workshop venues and timetables vary and are announced for each workshop.

If you would like to inquire about a course or workshop or book into one, please contact
Lesley Dunn, Courses and Workshop Secretary through this link